Stress relief, courtesy of thenerdylush

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m really bad at updating.  It’s not that I don’t care about this blog…I just have a lot of drinking to do during the month and that really gets in the way.

Also, my favorite author released the latest book in her epic, historical romance, time travel, and all around awesome fiction series.  I’ve been reading that every spare second, and in between crying, laughing, and gasping out loud, I haven’t had time for much else.

On top of that, my husband and I got a new puppy a few months ago.  We’ve settled into a routine with the little man, but that routine involves going for walks, playing fetch, and all around altering my sleep schedule to avoid having to clean up pee from my hardwood floors. 

 

Image

Image

In addition to all of that, (this is starting to sound like a really fucked up life lesson/math problem) Brian and I have been working our asses off to get our company off the ground.  We are photographers when we aren’t at our day jobs, and we’re hoping to make enough money to work for ourselves. 

Baby steps. 

In an attempt to reduce stress, here are my favorite things this month that made me feel a little saner.  YouTube videos and copious amounts of alcohol seem to do the trick.

Brian Williams is awesome.  Jimmy Fallon is a genius.  This video has over 4.5 million views and I may be responsible for 1 million of them.  

Click here.

I love Beyonce.  My obsession with pop music confuses and mildly annoys Brian.  Mostly we listen to punk and ska, but I do love a hot base line. And I’ve just dated myself because I have no clue how to use current slang.  Um, YOLO? Swag? I’d like to apologize to my parents for my douchebaggery as a teenager, because most kids these days annoy the shit out of me.

Anyway, back to the matter at hand.  These three guys are breaking it down to a Beyonce supermix.  In 4 inch heels.  I can’t even stand in heels.  I totter around like a wobbly-kneed baby giraffe.  It’s sad.  This video, however, is pure magic.  And I dare you to put on Single Ladies when you are home alone and just try not to shake your ass a little.

Click here for fabulous.

 

With my love of pop music comes my love of celebrities parodying pop music. If you aren’t familiar with the song Happy by Pharrell, it is a repetitive, funk pop version of “If you are happy and you know it, clap your hands.”  It is one of those songs that you listen to once and you know all the words…because there are only 6 lines of original lyrics.  It is, however, incredibly enjoyable in small doses.  

It is made more enjoyable when Simon Pegg attempts to “sing” his own version.  Simon Pegg wrote and acted in a British television show called Spaced (GO WATCH ON NETFLIX NOW IF YOU HAVEN’T SEEN IT!) but is best known for the Cornetto Trilogy: Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, and The Worlds End.  Pegg is a huge nerd and makes my little geek heart squee with delight.  

Click here.

 

I’m a huge fan of movies.  I’m also addicted to video games.  In early June, the video game convention to end all video game conventions, E3, took place.  It is my lifetime goal to make it to E3 and San Diego Comic Con.  E3 allows video game developers and and the big three platforms to reveal their newest games and hardware.  This year, there was really only one game that I was hoping to see.

Click here.

As huge science fiction fans, Brian and I both are obsessed with Star Wars.  When Battlefront came out on xBox, it was perfection; Brian and I could play together in co-op mode.  The levels were all familiar landscapes from the movie; the battles allowed us to choose sides between the Rebels and the Empire.  

Battlefront 2 was more of the same, although it added heroes to use in battle; taking out a garrison of battle droids as Obi-Wan was pretty awesome.  Using snipers to pick off Ewoks was satisfying, but those little bastards throw turd bombs and almost always beat us.

Battlefront 3 was long rumored to be in production, but the project was scrapped a few years ago.  Now that Disney owns LucasArts, the game has made a resurgence and I am super duper excited.  

 

Remember that book series I mentioned?  The first book is called Outlander, hence the Outlander series.  I had insomnia one night 4 years ago, and I searched free books on Kindle.  Outlander was available for download for free.  I had heard of the series, having worked in a book store years before, but I had never read it.  Free was good for me.  

I finished all 860 pages in a few days.  At the time, there were a total of 7 books in print, Outlander being the shortest.  I found all of them at a used book store and finished them all within a few months.  These books suck you in like no other.  A believable romance, a touch of science fiction and fantasy, medically accurate surgeries using supplies from the 1700s, and historically accurate battles make for exciting reading.  

Outlander is being made into a television series on Starz.  I am beyond excited.  I feel like it is a real labor of love for the producers and actors, and I’m incredibly excited to see the outcome.  

Click here.

After seeing what Starz has done with another of their epic historic television shows, Black Sails, I have complete faith in the series.

 

Alright, enough procrastinating.  I’ve got to get back to work on our photography.  You can visit our newly launched website and like us on Facebook.  Next post, I’ll share some more of our pictures and the stories behind them.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

